“Jumping” preschool storytime

preschool jumping

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Book – If You Hopped like a Frog by David M. Scwartz

Jack in the Box
Jack in the box
Stays down in his box
‘Til somebody opens the lid
SURPRISE!
Source: King County Library System

Exercise Every Day
Tune: “The Farmer in the Dell”
Take care of your heart.
Exercise today.
Jump and jump and jump
When you’re out at play.
Source: Preschool Express

Book- Bounce by Doreen Cronin

Music- Jim Gill’s “Jumping and Counting

Baby Kangaroo
Jump, jump jump goes the big kangaroo
(Make fist with one hand, index finger pointing up, fist jumps)
I thought there was one, but I see there are two.
(Index finger of other hand comes up between thumb and index of  “mom” to make a joey.)
The mother takes her young one along in a pouch. (rub belly)
Where he can nap like a child on a couch. (hands under head, like sleeping)
Jump, jump, jump. Jump, jump, jump.
Source: I can’t find where I got this rhyme from. I thought it was KCLS, but they may have since removed it from Tell Me a Story. 

Scarf Play – Popcorn Kernels
Tune of Frere Jacques
Popcorn Kernels (wave scarves overhead)
In the pot (make their scarves ‘disappear’ by bunching them up in their fists)
Shake them shake them shake them (shake)
’til they POP (Toss scarves up into the air)
Source: Jbrary

Book- Who Hops? by Katie Davis

 Walking, Walking
Tune: Frere Jacques
Walking, walking. Walking, walking
Hop, hop, hop. Hop, hop, hop
Running, running, running. Running, running, running
Now we stop. Now we stop

Sleeping Bunnies
See the little bunnies sleeping
‘Til it’s nearly noon?
Shall we wake them with a merry tune?
Oh, so still. Are they ill?
Wake up little bunnies!
Hop little bunnies, hop, hop, hop
Hop little bunnies, hop, hop, hop
Hop little bunnies, hop, hop, hop
Source:  Russ

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early Literacy Tip: Just as we teach children the A-B-C’s as the building blocks for reading, we should teach the foundations of movement. This gives children a greater fitness level and increased confidence.   Fine tuning motor skills will also aid children in holding books, turning pages, and, later, in learning to write.

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

4 thoughts on ““Jumping” preschool storytime

    1. Thank you! I use the same opening every week, as the repetition helps kids settle into the storytime routine. You’d think after 5 years of using the same song, I’d be tired of it, but I am surprisingly still enjoying it. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment