“Ocean” toddler storytime

toddler ocean life

Opening Rhyme
(to the tune of The Farmer in the Dell)
We’re all here today. We’re all here today.
Let’s clap our hands and sing together.
Hip, hip, hooray!
Source: (To be honest, my library was using this before I started so I’m not sure where the previous librarian found it, but it looks like a modified version of Jean Warren’s Preschool Express song here.)

Where, oh Where are Baby’s Fingers?
(Tune: Ten Little Indians)
Where, oh where are baby’s fingers? Where, oh where are baby’s toes?
Where’s the baby’s belly button?
‘Round and round it goes
Where, oh where are baby’s ears?
Where, oh where is baby’s nose?
Where’s the baby’s belly button?
Round and round it goes.
Source: King County Library System

Book – I’m the Biggest Thing in the Ocean! by Kevin Sherry

Song – Slippery Fish (I have no idea who sings the version of Slippery Fish that I have, but it’s a male vocalist with minimal accompaniment. I so much prefer this to any of the female versions I can find. If anyone knows who this is, please let me know!)

Felt Board – Fishies (from Nancy Stewart)
There are so many fishies
In the deep blue sea.
What color fishie do you see?
The Whales Live in the Sea
The whales live in the sea.
The whales live in the sea.
Heigh-ho, watch them blow.
The whales live in the sea.
The crabs live in the sea. Heigh-ho, they scurry so.
The octopus lives in the sea. Heigh-ho, they live in holes.
The sharks live in the sea. Heigh-ho, watch them go.
The oysters live in the sea. Heigh-ho, they burrow below.
Source: Preschool Express

Mr. Lobster and Mrs. Crab
(tune: Old MacDonald)
Mr. Lobster and Mrs. Crab
Pinch and snap all day
Mr. Lobster and Mrs. Crab
Pinch and snap all day
With a pinch, pinch here
And a snap, snap there
Here a pinch, there a snap,
Everywhere a pinch, snap
Mr. Lobster and Mrs. Crab
Pinch and snap all day.
Source: Storytime Katie

Book – Shark in the Park by Nick Sharrat

I Have a Little Turtle
I have a little turtle.
He lives in a box. (draw box in the air)
He swims in the water, (swim hands)
He climbs on the rocks.
(walk fingers along forearm)
He snapped at a minnow,
(clap hands in air for each creature)
He snapped at a flea,
He snapped at a mosquito,
And he snapped at me.
He caught the minnow,
He caught the flea,
He caught the mosquito,
But he didn’t catch me!
Source: King County Library System

Bubbles – best bubble machine ever! (IMHO, of course)

 Rainbows in my Bubbles
Tune of She’ll be Coming Round the Mountain)
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do
When I look up towards the sun,
They’ve got rainbows every one.
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do.
Source: Preschool Express

Good-bye Song
(Tune of Ten Little Indians)
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with both feet now
Repeat with other body parts
Source: King County Library System

Play time!

Early literacy tip:  When reading to your baby, don’t worry about following the text exactly. Stop once in a while and ask questions or make comments on the pictures or text. (“Where’s the kitty? There he is! What a cute black kitty.”) Your child might not be able to respond yet, but this lays the groundwork for doing so later on.
Source: Kids Health

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

