“Clothing” preschool storytime

preschool clothing

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Book – Pete the Cat and his Four Groovy Buttons

Now You’re Getting Dressed
(Tune of London Bridge)
First put on your underwear,
underwear, underwear
First put on your underwear.
Now you’re getting dressed.
Stick your arms up in your shirt
Pull your pants up to your waist…
Wiggle your toes down in your socks
Slip your shoes on, tie them tight,
Now you can go out and play
Source: Jen in the Library

Song – Laurie Berkner’s “Boots

Washing in the Washing Machine
Washing in the washing machine,
Going round and round, (roll arms in a circle)
Washing in the washing machine,
Going up and down, (roll arms high and then low)
Round and round and up and down,
It makes a noisy sound, (roll arms in a circle, speeding up)
Faster, faster, faster, faster,
Stop!
Source: King County Library System

Book- I Want my Hat Back by Jon Klassen

Tall Hat Small Hat
Tall hat, (arms overhead)
Small hat (hands on head)
Big hat (arms outspread)
Cap (hands on head)
Let me take them off again (repeat motions in reverse)
And put them in my lap. (fold hands in lap)
Source: King County Library System

Ravioli
Tune: Aloutte
Ravioli, I like ravioli
Ravioli, it’s the stuff for me
Do I have it on my sleeve?
Yes, I haveit on my sleeve.
On my sleeve. On my sleeve. Ravioli…
Repeat with other clothing
Source: Scout Songs

Book – Animals Should Definitely NOT Wear Clothing by Judi Barrett

I Went to Bed and I Tried to Sleep
I went to bed and I tried to go to sleep
But somebody put (running shoes) on my feet! (run in place)
Repeat with ballet shoes, (dance) tap shoes, (tap dance) basketball,
(dribble and shoot) shoes, snow (ski) shoes..
Source: King County Library System

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip: Playing dress-up is not only a great way to teach your children narrative skills and broaden their imaginations, but it also teaches them about the uniforms and articles of clothing we see in the world around us.

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a comment