“Clothing” toddler storytime

clothes toddler

Opening Rhyme
(to the tune of The Farmer in the Dell)
We’re all here today. We’re all here today.
Let’s clap our hands and sing together.
Hip, hip, hooray!
Source: (To be honest, my library was using this before I started so I’m not sure where the previous librarian found it, but it looks like a modified version of Jean Warren’s Preschool Express song here.)

Where, oh Where are Baby’s Fingers?
(Tune: Ten Little Indians)
Where, oh where are baby’s fingers? Where, oh where are baby’s toes?
Where’s the baby’s belly button?
‘Round and round it goes
Where, oh where are baby’s ears?
Where, oh where is baby’s nose?
Where’s the baby’s belly button?
Round and round it goes.
Source: King County Library System

Book – Pete the Cat: I Love my White Shoes by Eric Litwin

Old Shoes, New Shoes
Old shoes, new shoes,
Who is wearing red shoes?
One, two, three, four,
Stomp them, stomp them on the floor!
Replace red with other colors
 Last verse:Old shoes, new shoes,
Everyone is wearing shoes!
One, two, three, four,
Let’s all stomp them on the floor!
Source: Storytime Katie

One, Two, Buckle My Shoe
One, two, buckle my shoe (pat foot)
Three, four, shut the door (clap)
Five, six, pick up sticks (show fingers)
Seven, eight, lay them straight (pat floor)
Nine, ten, a big fat hen!
(make wings and cluck)
Source: traditional

Put Your Pants On
(Tune: Mama’s Little Baby Loves Shortnin’ Bread)
Let’s all put our pants on,
Pants on, pants on,
Let’s all put our pants on, 1, 2, 3.
Now that you’re all dressed, All dressed, all dressed,
Now that you’re all dressed, Let’s go out to play.
Repeat with other articles of clothing (socks or tights, shoes, etc.)
Source: Storytime Hooligans

Book – What Color is Your Underwear? by Sam Lloyd

Washing Machine
Washing in the washing machine,
Going round and round,
(roll arms in a circle)
Washing in the washing machine,
Going up and down,
(roll arms high and then low)
Round and round and up and down,It makes a noisy sound,
(roll arms in a circle, speeding up)
Faster, faster, faster, faster,
Stop!
Source: King County Library System

Diddle Diddle Dumpling
Diddle diddle dumpling,
My son John.
Went to bed with his trousers on.
One shoe off, one shoe on.
Diddle diddle dumpling,
My son John.
Source: Traditional 

My Silly Hat
Tune: This Old Man
On my head I wear my hat.
It is such a silly hat that my head will wiggle waggle to and fro
Where else can my silly hat go?
(foot, elbow, knee…)
On my hands I wear my hat.
It is such a quiet hat that my
hands don’t wiggle. They just go clap.
Then I fold them in my lap.
Source:  King County Library System

Bubbles – best bubble machine ever! (IMHO, of course)

 Rainbows in my Bubbles
Tune of She’ll be Coming Round the Mountain)
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do
When I look up towards the sun,
They’ve got rainbows every one.
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do.
Source: Preschool Express

Good-bye Song
(Tune of Ten Little Indians)
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with both feet now
Repeat with other body parts
Source: King County Library System

Early literacy tip:  Good narrative skills lead to good reading comprehension. Tell your child stories – even short ones. Engage in conversation with even the youngest of children. Ask your baby, “Should we get dressed now?” (pause) “Okay, let’s get dressed! First we’ll take off your pajamas…” Ask your toddler or preschooler what happened to them during their day, and then ask for more details.
Source: Ferguson Library

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

