“Numbers” toddler storytime

Opening Rhyme
(to the tune of The Farmer in the Dell)
We’re all here today. We’re all here today.
Let’s clap our hands and sing together.
Hip, hip, hooray!
Source: (To be honest, my library was using this before I started so I’m not sure where the previous librarian found it, but it looks like a modified version of Jean Warren’s Preschool Express song here.)

Open Shut Them
Open, shut them, open, shut them,
Give a little clap, clap, clap.
Open, shut them, open, shut them,
Put them in your lap, lap, lap.
Creep them, crawl them,
Creep them, crawl them,
Right up to your chin, chin, chin.
Open up your little mouth,
But do not put them in.
Source: King County Library System

Book – Pete the Cat and his Four Groovy Buttons by Eric Litwin

Pat-a-cake
Pat-a-cake, pat-a-cake, baker’s man,
Bake me a cake as fast as you can.
Roll it, and prick it, and mark it with a “B”
And put it in the oven for Baby and me!
Source: Traditional

Little Pink Pigs
Tune is Ten Little Indians
One little, two little, three little pink pigs (counting up on fingers)
Four little, five little, six little pink pigs
Seven little, eight little, nine little pink pigs
Ten little piggies in the mud!
All are fat (hold arms out in front) with turned up noses (push nose up with finger)
They don’t smell a bit like roses! (hold nose with one hand, wave other hand in front of face)
Curly tails that look like hoses (draw curls in air)
Rolling in the mud! (roll hands)
Count down!
Ten little, nine little, eight little pink pigs
Seven little, six little, five little pink pigs
Four little, three little, two little pink pigs
One little piggy in the mud!
Source: King County Library System 

Song” Jim Gill’s “Jumping and Counting

Book – Numbers and Counting by Ruth Owen

One, Two, Buckle My Shoe
One, two, buckle my shoe (pat foot)
Three, four, shut the door (clap)
Five, six, pick up sticks
(show fingers)
Seven, eight, lay them straight (pat floor)
Nine, ten, a big fat hen!
(make wings and cluck)
Source: Traditional

Pizza Pickle Pumpernickel
Pizza, pickle, pumpernickel
My little one shall have a tickle!
One for his/her nose (tickle nose)
And one for his/her toes (tickle toes)
And one for his/her tummy where the hotdog goes! (tickle tummy)
Source: Library Meow

Diddle Diddle Dumpling
Diddle diddle dumpling, my son John
Went to bed with his breeches on,
One stocking off, and one stocking on;
Diddle diddle dumpling, my son John.
Source: Traditional

Bubbles – best bubble machine ever! (IMHO, of course)

 Rainbows in my Bubbles
Tune of She’ll be Coming Round the Mountain)
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do
When I look up towards the sun,
They’ve got rainbows every one.
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do.
Source: Preschool Express

Good-bye Song
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with both feet now
Repeat with other body parts
Source: King County Library System

Play Time!

Early Literacy Tip: Let your baby know that you hear her babbles, coos, and gurgles. Repeat the sounds she makes. Smile back. When you respond to her sounds, she learns that what she “says” means something and is important to you. Sometimes, you can supply the language for her. When your baby stretches her arm toward her bottle and says “ga-ga-ga,” say, “Oh, you’re ready for some milk? Here’s your milk. Isn’t it good?”
Source: Partnerships for Reading

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a comment