“Life in a Fishbowl” preschool storytime

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Book- Prince and Pirate by Charlotte Cunnafson

Song – “The Goldfish Song” by Laurie Berkner

Felt Board: There are so Many Fishies in the Deep Blue Sea
based on the Nancy Stewart song

Book – Someday, Narwhal by Lisa Mantchev

Song – “Listen and Move” by Greg and Steve

Walking, Walking
Tune: Frere Jacques
Walking, walking. Walking, walking
Hop, hop, hop. Hop, hop, hop
Running, running, running. Running, running, running
Now we stop. Now we stop
Source: Super Simple Learning

Book – Henny, Penny, Lenny, Denny, and Mike by Cynthia Rylant

Song: “Slippery Fish”
I can’t find the version of the song I have, but here is one from Jbrary.

Once I Caught a Fish Alive
One, two, three, four, five
Once I caught a fish alive,
Six, seven, eight, nine, ten,
Then I let it go again.
Why did you let it go?
Because it bit my finger so.
Which finger did it bite?
This little finger on my right.
Source: King County Library System

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip: Consistent routines, activities that happen at about the same time and in about the same way each day, provide comfort and a sense of safety to young children. Whether it is time to play, time for a snack, a nap, or a loved one to return, knowing what will happen next gives children security and emotional stability. It helps them learn to trust that caring adults will provide what they need. When children feel this sense of trust and safety, they are free to do their “work,” which is to play, explore, and learn.
Source: Zero to Three

Other books
Brave as a Mouse – Nicolò Carozzi

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a comment