“Feeling Scared” preschool storytime

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Book – Time Now to Dream by Anna Kang

Sleeping Bunnies
See the little bunnies sleeping
‘Til it’s nearly noon?
Shall we wake them with a merry tune?
Oh, so still. Are they ill?
Wake up little bunnies!
Hop little bunnies, hop, hop, hop
Hop little bunnies, hop, hop, hop
Hop little bunnies, hop, hop, hop
Source: So many versions of this song! Here is one with a ukulele! (Random fact: Did you know Miss Mary and I both have tattoos of Pete the Cat?)

All My Fingers Go to Sleep
Tune: “London Bridge
All my fingers go to sleep
(open hands wide)
Go to sleep, go to sleep
(slowly curl fingers into a fist)
All my fingers go to sleep.
Now wake up! (quickly open hands again)
Source: King County Library System

Book – Snip! Snap! What’s That? by Mara Bergman

Song- Mr. Eric’s “I can Shake My Shaker Egg

Shake Your Shakers
Tune: “London Bridge
Shake your shakers in the air
Shake it here, shake it there
Shake your shakers in the air
Shake your shakers.
Shake it high and shake it low
Shake it yes, shake it no
Shake it up and shake it down
Rub your shaker on the ground
Shake it near and shake it far
Drive your shaker like a car
Shake it fast and shake it slow
Shake it stop, shake it go
Source: Jbrary

Shake It to the East
Tune: We’re Going to Kentucky
Shake it to the east
Shake it to the west
Shake it all around
and then you take a rest
Shake your shakers up
Shake your shakers down
Shake it, shake it, shake it,
and then you settle down.
Source: Jbrary

Book – I am (Not) Scared by Anna Kang

I’m Being Eaten by a Boa Constrictor
I’m being eaten by a boa constrictor
I’m being eaten by a boa constrictor
I’m being eaten by a boa constrictor
And I don’t like it one bit
Oh no! He’s got my toe!
Oh Gee! He’s got my knee!
Oh My! He’s got my thigh!
Oh Fiddle! He’s got my middle!
Oh Heck! He’s got my neck!
Oh Dread! He’s got my – GULP
Source: Shel Silverstein/King County Library System 

Song: Jim Gill’s “The Nothing Wrong Song

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip: Exploring emotions through stories and books is a safe way to process potentially fearful situations and feelings. Kids can feel safe when reading these stories with trusted adults while at the same time still developing the critical thinking and problem solving skills needed to navigate unknown situations.

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

2 thoughts on ““Feeling Scared” preschool storytime

    1. Thank you! Snip Snap is so fun, and Time Now to Dream went over well too. The other one I was considering was the Giant Jumperee, but I will save that for yoga storytime in October. We don’t have Nope so I will purchase it! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

