“Parts” preschool storytime

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Book – Parts by Tedd Arnold

All My Fingers Go to Sleep
(London Bridge)
All my fingers go to sleep (open hands wide)
Go to sleep, go to sleep
(slowly curl fingers into a fist)
All my fingers go to sleep.
Now wake up! (quickly open hands again)
Source: King County Library System

Song: Jim Gill’s “Stick to the Glue

Head and Shoulders, Knees and Toes
Head, shoulders, knees and toes,
Knees and toes.
Head, shoulders, knees and toes,
Knees and toes.
Eyes and ears and mouth and nose,
Head, shoulders, knees and toes,
Knees and toes.
Source: Traditional

Variation 2- Cat version
Head, shoulders, knees and paws,
Knees and paws,
Head, shoulders, knees and paws,
Knees and paws,
Eyes and ears and whiskers and claws,
Head, shoulders, knees and paws, knees and paws.

Variation 3 – Insect Anatomy
Head, thorax, abdomen, abdomen.
Head, thorax, abdomen, abdomen.
Two eyes, six legs, antennae and some wings.
Head, thorax, abdomen, abdomen.
Source: King County Library System

Book – I Ain’t Gonna Paint No More! by Karen Beaumont

Song: Jim Gill’s “Toe Leg Knee

I Can
I can make my hands go
clap, clap, clap;
clap, clap, clap;
clap, clap, clap
I can make my hands go clap, clap, clap, ‘cuz they’re a part of me.
I can make my feet go stomp, stomp, stomp;
I can make my eyes go blink,
I can make my legs go jump,
I can make my head go up and down
I can make my tongue go in and out
Source: King County Library System

I’m Being Eaten by a Boa Constrictor (with a tunnel)
I’m being eaten by a boa constrictor
I’m being eaten by a boa constrictor
I’m being eaten by a boa constrictor
And I don’t like it one bit
Oh no! He’s got my toe!
Oh Gee! He’s got my knee!
Oh My! He’s got my thigh!
Oh Fiddle! He’s got my middle!
Oh Heck! He’s got my neck!
Oh Dread! He’s got my – GULP
Source: Shel Silverstein/King County Library System 

Book- Go Away, Big Green Monster

Song – Jim Gill’s “Spaghetti Legs

If You’re a Monster and You Know It
If you’re a monster and you know it,
Wave your arms,
If you’re a monster and you know it,
Wave your arms,
If you’re a monster and you know it,
Then your arms will surely show it,
If you’re a monster and you know it,
Wave your arms
stomp your feet…,
show your claws…
growl out loud…
Source: Adapted traditional

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip: Use your body to tell a story! With body language you can capture attention, create atmosphere, emotion, and draw in your children. There are many different non-verbal actions you can use to embellish your stories, you can use them to set the tone or mood of your story, to add surprise, show emotion, create different characters and make them believable. It also happens to be a lot of fun to do.
Source: From Growing Creative Kids (site no longer active)

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

2 thoughts on ““Parts” preschool storytime

Leave a Reply

