“Pirates!” preschool storytime

pirates

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Book – I Love my Pirate Papa! by Laura Leuck

Song: Koo-Koo Kanga Roo’s “Pirate Prep

I’m a Little Pirate
(
tune: I’m a Little Teapot)
I’m a little pirate, how ‘bout that.
Here is my eye-patch, here is my hat.
When I pull the plug, the boat it sank,
That’s why they made me walk the plank!
Source: King County Library System

I’m a Pirate
I am a pirate it’s true. (point to self, nod)
I’ve sailed the ocean blue.
(move hand in waving motion)
With a parrot on my shoulder,
(point to shoulder)
No one could be bolder.
(hook thumbs through shirt)
With a patch over my eye,
(place hand over eye)
No one’s as mean as I. (make mad face)
So if you see me coming,
(place hand over eyes, look around)
You’d better start a running!
(slap hands against legs)
Source: Library Sparks

 Ten Little Pirates
Ten little pirates stood in a row
(hold up all ten fingers)
They bowed to their captain so
(lower and raise fingers)
They marched to the left
And marched to the right
They shouted yo-ho! (cup hands over mouth)
And gave their captain a fright
(act scared, cover mouth with hands)
Source: Storytime Katie

Book – Tough Boris by Mem Fox

Song: Jim Gill’s “I’m so Mad…

Book – Bubble Bath Pirates by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

After a Bath
After a bath I try, try, try
To wipe myself ‘til I’m dry, dry, dry
Hands to wipe and fingers and toes
Two wet legs and shiny nose.
Just think how much less time
It would take
If I were a dog and could
Shake, shake, shake!
Source: KIDiddles

If You’re a Pirate and You Know It
If you’re a pirate and you know it,
Swab the deck (Swish, swish)
If you’re a pirate and you know it,
Swab the deck (Swish, swish)
If you’re a pirate and you know it,
then you’ll hear sea winds a-blowin’.
If you’re a pirate and you know it,
Swab the deck (Swish, swish)
Say ahoy: Ahoy! (Wave hello)
Walk the plank (Stomp, stomp)
Source: Adapted Traditional

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip: If your child likes pirates, read all about them! Read poetry and fiction, and check out books about actual pirates!

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

