“Letter X” preschool storytime

letter-x

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Alphabet Monster (with puppet)
I’m the Alphabet Monster
And nothing tastes better
To the Alphabet Monster
Than eating a letter.
Today I will eat an “X” if I may
With the million more letters
I munch every day.
I’m hungry now. What shall I do?
I think I’ll eat a “y” an “o” and a “u” . . . . . . That means YOU!
Source: Storyblocks (adapted)

Book – My Mom has ­­X-ray Vision by Angela McAlister

What Begins with X?
(The Farmer in the Dell)
What begins with X? What begins with X?
We all know. We’ll tell you so.
What begins with X?
Xylophone begins with X…
X-ray begins with X…
What words have an X?
What words have an X?
We all know. We’ll tell you so.
What words have an X?
Box has an X…
Mexico has an X…
Exercise has an X…
Source: Adapated Traditional

Exercise Every Day
Tune: “The Farmer In the Dell”
Take care of your heart.
Exercise today.
Jump and jump and jump
When you’re out at play
Source: Preschool Express

Book – Not a Box by Antoinette Portis

Is There Something in My Pocket?
Is there something in my pocket?
Could it be a moose?
(hands to sides of head for antlers)
Could it be a train (chug chug) with a bell (ding ding) or a caboose (point to back)?
Could it be a slippery snake
(palms together, wiggle)
Or some icky, sticky glue?
(try to pull palms apart)
Right here in my pocket is
(have them guess – it’s a felt fox)
Source: King County Library System

Felt Board – The Fox is in the Box
 (sung to the tune of “The Farmer in the Dell”)
The fox is in the box
The fox is in the box
The fox is in the box
the fox is in the box.
The fox is under the box
The fox is above the box
The fox is in front of the box
The fox is to the right of the box
Source: Mid-Continent Public LIbrary
I also used the same felt set to play a Little Mouse, Are you in the House variation.

Book – Take Time to Relax by Nancy Carlson

Sleeping Bunnies
See the little bunnies sleeping
‘Til it’s nearly noon?
Shall we wake them with a merry tune?
Oh, so still. Are they ill?
Wake up little bunnies!
Hop little bunnies, hop, hop, hop
Hop little bunnies, hop, hop, hop
Hop little bunnies, hop, hop, hop
Source: Russ (The original is not his, but I love his extra verses.)

Song – Jim Gill’s  “The Countdown” (just because it’s new, and I wanted to try it)

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip:  X is for Xmas gifts of literacy…year round! For any occasion, give children gifts of literacy materials: books, writing utensils, word games, etc.) When the child is giving gifts, have him or her write out the cards or gift tags. They can also make homemade books to give as gifts to others!

  • Teaching Early Literacy: Development, Assessment, and Instruction by Diane M. Barone et al

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

