“Letter W” preschool storytime

letter w

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Alphabet Monster (with puppet)
I’m the Alphabet Monster
And nothing tastes better
To the Alphabet Monster
Than eating a letter.
Today I will eat a “W” if I may
With the million more letters
I munch every day.
I’m hungry now. What shall I do?
I think I’ll eat a “y” an “o” and a “u” . . . . . . That means YOU!
Source: Storyblocks (adapted)

Book – Windblown by Edouard Manceau

Washing in the Washing Machine
Washing in the washing machine,
Going round and round,
(roll arms in a circle)
Washing in the washing machine,
Going up and down,
(roll arms high and then low)
Round and round and up and down,
It makes a noisy sound,
(roll arms in a circle, speeding up)
Faster, faster, faster, faster,
Stop!
Source: King County Library System

Song – “My Wiggle Makes Me Giggle” Choosy Kids

Book – White is for Blueberry by George Shannon

Waddling Penguins
Penguins, penguins having fun
(waddle like a penguin)
Waddling in the winter sun
Waddling fast and waddling slow
Waddling to and waddling fro
Penguins, penguins having fun
Waddling in the winter sun
Source: King County Library System

Walk Around the Circle
(Ring Around the Rosie)
Walk around the circle
All around the circle
Walking, walking
Now do this
Action: Pat your head, clap your hands, hop on one foot
Source: I know I didn’t make this up, but I can’t find it anywhere. If you know where it comes from, let me know!

Book – Worms for Lunch? by Leonid Gore 

Felt Board – Little Worm, Are you in the Apple?

Hermie the Worm
Sitting on a fencepost chewing my bubblegum
smack smack smack
Playing with my yoyo
Boing boing boing
When along came Hermie the worm
And he was this big
(hands about an inch apart)
I said, “Hermie, what happened?”
“I ate my breakfast.”
Repeat with other meals and Hermie getting bigger and bigger until the last verse when he is small again.
I said, “Hermie, what happened?”
“I burped.”
Source: Traditional/camp song, but here is a video of the closest version I know. 

Song: Koo Koo Kanga Roo’s “Wiggle It!

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip: W is for words, words, words! Children learn and master a large body of vocabulary through extensive reading and writing (telling stories). Families can make word learning fun and exciting and relate it to children’s interests.

  • Teaching Early Literacy: Development, Assessment, and Instruction by Diane M. Barone et al

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

