“Letter O” preschool storytime

preschool letter o

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Alphabet Monster (with puppet)
I’m the Alphabet Monster
And nothing tastes better
To the Alphabet Monster
Than eating a letter.
Today I will eat an “O” if I may
With the million more letters
I munch every day.
I’m hungry now. What shall I do?
I think I’ll eat a “y” an “o” and a “u” . . . . . . That means YOU!
Source: Storyblocks (adapted)

Book – Orange Pear Apple Bear by Emily Gravett

I See Three
I see three-one, two, three
(hold up three fingers, one at a time)
Three little bunnies
Reading the funnies
(hold hands open like pages)
I see three-one, two, three
Three kittens
Wearing mittens (hold up fists)
I see three-one, two, three
Three little frogs
Sitting on logs (squat)
I see three-one, two, three
Three bears
Climbing upstairs (pretend to climb)
Source: UMass Amherst

Song – Jim Gill’s “Silly Dance Contest

Felt Board – Five Little Owls 

Book – Black? White? Day? Night? by Laura Vaccaro Seeger

Opposites – This is Big
This is big, big, big
This is small, small, small
This is short, short, short
This is tall, tall, tall
This is yes, yes, yes
This is no, no, no
This is fast, fast, fast
This is slow, slow, slow
Source: Storyblocks

Open, Shut Them
Open, Shut Them
Open, shut them
Open, shut them
Give a little clap.
Open, Shut Them
Open, shut them
Open, shut them
Put them in your lap.
Creep them, crawl them
Creep them, crawl them
Right up to your chin.
Open wide your little mouth
But do not put them in.
Source: King County Library System

Book – The Biggest Thing in the Ocean by Kevin Sherry

Ocean Life
A jellyfish jiggles
An octopus wiggles
A green turtle glides
A slippery fish slides
But the great big whale goes, “SPLASH!”
Source: I thought this came from King County Library System, but I can’t seem to find it. 

Song – “Slippery Fish”
(I have no idea who sings the version of Slippery Fish that I have, but it’s a male vocalist with minimal accompaniment. I so much prefer this to any of the female versions I can find. If anyone knows who this is, please let me know!)

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip: O is for oral reading! It is important for your child to hear you read aloud. If they are starting to read themselves, have them read aloud. Reading aloud helps kids decode words and read with expression.

  • Teaching Early Literacy by Diane Barone et al

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

