“Christmas and Holiday” preschool storytime

christmas preschool

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Book – Llama Llama Holiday Drama by Anne Dewdney

Going on a Santa Hunt
We’re going on a Santa hunt.
We can’t wait to see him!
Oh, no!
There’s a lake, an icy, frozen lake.
We can’t go over it. We can’t go under it.
We’ve got to go across it.  Put on your skates (skate, skate, skate, skate).
We’re going on a Santa hunt. . . . .
Oh, no!
A snowstorm.  A whirling, swirling snowstorm.
We can’t go over it. We can’t go under it.
We’ve got to go through it.
(Whooooh, whoooh, whoooh, whoooh.)
We’re going on a Santa hunt. . . .
Oh, no!  A herd of reindeer.  Big reindeer,  with bells around their necks.
We can’t go over them. We can’t go under them.  We’ve got to go through.
(Jingle, jangle, jingle, jangle).
We’re going on a Santa hunt…
Oh, no!  A cave.  A dark, narrow cave.
We can’t go over it. We can’t go under it.
We’ve got to go through it.
(Tiptoe, tiptoe, tiptoe, tiptoe.)
What’s that at the back of the cave?  Lots of white fur, little black eyes, sharp teeth.
Is it Santa?  No!  It’s!  A!  Polar!  Bear!!
Source: King County Library System

Here is a Chimney
Here is the chimney
(Make fist, enclose thumb)
Here is the top (Palm of hand on top of fist)
Open the lid (Remove hand quickly)
And out Santa will pop (Pop up thumb)
Source: Storytime Katie

Let’s All Do a Little Clapping
(Tune: We Wish You a Merry Christmas)
Let’s all do a little clapping
Let’s all do a little clapping
Let’s all do a little clapping
And spread Christmas cheer.
(Jumping, bending, twirling, sitting)
Source: Jbrary

Song: Laurie Berkner’s “Jingle Bells” (with bells)

Ring Those Bells (tune: Jimmy Crack Corn)
Ring those bells and turn around,
Ring those bells and turn around,
Ring those bells and turn around,
Holiday time is here!
Ring those bells and stamp your feet…
Ring those bells and clap your hands…
Ring those bells and jump up high…
Ring those bells and touch the floor…
Source: King County Library System

Book – Jingle Jingle by Nicola Smee

Twinkle Twinkle Little Star (for solstice)
Have the kids spread their arms and legs wide, like a 5-pointed star yoga pose. Cross the midline of the body while singing touch one arm to the opposite leg and then repeating on the other side. 
Twinkle, twinkle, little star,
How I wonder what you are!
Up above the world so high,
Like a diamond in the sky.
Source: Traditional

Spin, Little Dreidels (for Hanukkah)
Spin, little dreidels, go, go, go.
Spin, little dreidels, now go slow.
Spin, little dreidels, jump so high.
Spin, little dreidels, reach for the sky.
Spin, little dreidels, touch your nose.
Spin, little dreidels, stand on your toes.
Spin, little dreidels. take a hop.
Spin, little dreidels, don’t you stop.
Spin, little dreidels, spin around.
Spin, little dreidels, drop to the ground.
Source: King County Library System

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip: Letters to Santa are a great way to promote early literacy skills during the holiday season. Color pictures to leave for Santa or to give as gifts. Organize Christmas cookies by shape or color. Line up presents by size on Christmas morning.

Joke! What do you get when you cross a Christmas tree and an iPad?
a pineapple

 

Also, if anyone knows any interactiv eKwanzaa songs/rhymes, please send them my way!

 
 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

