“Doreen Cronin” preschool storytime

preschool doreen cronin

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Book – Giggle, Giggle, Quack  

Song: Jim Gill’s “Silly Dance Contest 

Felt Board: Pigs and Pancakes

Book – Wiggle!

 Can You Move with Me?
Can you wiggle like a worm,
Can you squiggle, can you squirm?
Can you flutter, can you fly,
Like a gentle butterfly?
Can you crawl upon the ground
Like a beetle that is round?
Can you move with me?

Can you flip? Can you flop?
Can you give a little hop?
Can you slither like a snake?
Can you give a little shake?
Can you dance like a bee
Who is buzzing in a tree?
Can you move with me?
Source: King County Library System

Hermie the Worm
Sitting on a fencepost chewing my bubblegum
smack smack smack
Playing with my yoyo
Boing boing boing
When along came Hermie the worm
And he was this big
(hands about an inch apart)
I said, “Hermie, what happened?”
“I ate my breakfast.”
Repeat with other meals and Hermie getting bigger and bigger until the last verse when he is small again.
I said, “Hermie, what happened?”
“I burped.”
Source: Girl Scouts

Book – Stretch

Yoga song: Bari Koral’s “Dancing Bear

Sometimes I am Tall
Sometimes I am tall
Sometimes I am small
Sometimes I am very, very tall
Sometimes I am very, very small
Sometimes tall, sometimes small
See how I am now.
Source: King County Library System

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early Literacy tip: Doreen Cronin’s books contain very silly plot lines about cause and effect. Teach your child cause and effect using concrete examples like setting up dominoes or creating a Rube Goldberg machine.

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

