“Thanksgiving” preschool storytime

preschool thanksgiving

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Book – Bear Says Thanks by Karma Wilson

Song – Jim Gill’s Can’t Wait to Celebrate

Felt Board – Three Nervous Turkeys
 “My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean
Three turkeys was getting quite nervous.
Thanksgiving Day soon would be back.
So one turkey put on a duck suit,
And now he goes “Gobble, quack-quack.”
Chorus:
Turkey, turkey, (hook thumbs together, fingers stretched out for the turkey feathers)
Turkey goes “Gobble, quack-quack, quack-quack.” (flap elbows/wings like a duck)
Turkey, turkey, (feathers)
Turkey goes “Gobble, quack-quack.”  (wings)

Now no little turkey is nervous.
It’s finally feeling it’s luck.
But you, my poor dears, might get hungry …
… unless, of course, you like duck!

Walk like a Turkey
Walk like a turkey,
Woddle, woddle, woddle.
Talk like a turkey,
Gobble, gobble, gobble.
Run like a turkey
‘Round and ‘round.
But when it’s Thanksgiving
Don’t make a sound!
Source: Rolling Reads

Mr. Turkey and Mr. Duck
Mr. Turkey went out one day
In the bright sunshiny weather
He met Mr. Duck along the way
And they stopped to talk together.
Gobble, gobble, gobble Quack, quack, quack. Gobble, gobble, gobble
Quack, quack, quack.
Gobble, gobble, gobble Quack, quack, quack.
And then they both went back. (Quack)
Source: King County Library System

Book – One Little, Two Little, Three Little Pilgrims by B. G. Hennessey

This is the Way
This is the way we shuck our corn,
Shuck our corn, shuck our corn.
This is the way we shuck our corn,
For Thanksgiving Day.
This is the way we hunt for food
This is the way we catch some fish
This is the way we knead our bread
Source: Adapted traditional 

Form the Corn
First you form the corn
Form, form the corn
Then you husk the corn
Husk, husk the corn
Then you pop the corn
Pop, pop the corn
Form, slice, mash potatoes
Form, peel, squeeze the orange
Form, pick, squish the squash
Form, dice the onion, cry
Form, peel, go bananas
Source: Go Noodle

Book – I’m a Turkey by Jim Arnosky 

Song – The Learning Groove’s “When the Saints Go Marching In”
(for our Thanksgiving Day parade)

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip: Read with fun in your voice.Read to your child with humor and expression.Use different voices. Ham it up! (Or, more appropriately for Thanksgiving, be a turkey!)

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

