“The Letter G” preschool storytime

preschool letter g

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Alphabet Monster (with puppet)
I’m the Alphabet Monster
And nothing tastes better
To the Alphabet Monster
Than eating a letter.
Today I will eat an “G” if I may
With the million more letters
I munch every day.
I’m hungry now. What shall I do?
I think I’ll eat a “y” an “o” and a “u” . . . . . . That means YOU!
Source: Storyblocks (adapted)

Book – Grumpy Bird by Jeremy Tankard

Song – Laurie Berkner “The Goldfish

Book – The Short Giraffe by Neil Flory

Here is a Giant
Here is a giant who is tall, tall, tall.
And here is a leprechaun
Who is small, small small.
The leprechaun who is small
Will try, try, try
To reach the giant who is high, high, high
Source: King County Library System

Two Fine Gentleman
Two fine gentlemen met in the lane,
Bowed most politely and bowed again,
“How do you do?” and “How do you do?” and “How do you do again?”
Two fine ladies, two fine babies…
Source: King County Library System

Song – “The Dance Along Gong Song” by Jim Gill

Book – Go, Go, Go, Stop! by Cherise Mericle Harper

Green Means Go
Green means “GO!” Go! Go! Go!
(march in place)
Yellow means “Slow.” Slow… slow… slow. (march in slow motion)
Red means “STOP!” (stop suddenly)
Go! Go! Go! (move fast!)
Slow… slow… slow. (move slowly)
Stop!
Source: King County Library System

Song – “Stick to the Glue” by Jim Gill

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip: Play games that promote focusing skills like Simon Says, Mother May I, and Red Light, Green Light.

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

