“Playing” preschool storytime

preschool play

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Book – Let’s Do Nothing! by Tony Fucile

Song – “Are You a Rabbit?” – Lunch Money

Felt Board – Pigs and Pancakes

Book – Can I Play Too? by Mo Willems

Song – Greg and Steve’s “Listen and Move

Laugh a Little
Laugh a little, laugh a little. Ha, ha, ha
Sing a little, sing a little. La la la
Dance a little, dance a little. Tap, tap, tap
Clap a little, clap a little. Clap, clap, clap.
Spin a little, spin a little. Round and round.
Rest a little, rest a little. All sit down.
Source: Preschool Express

Book – Wiggle by Doreen Cronin

Five Little Monkeys Jumping on the Bed
Five little monkeys jumping on the bed.
One fell off and bumped her head.
Mama called the doctor, and the doctor said,
“No more monkeys jumping on the bed!”
Four little monkeys…
Source: Traditional

 

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip:  Play is often talked about as if it were a relief from serious learning. But for children play is serious learning. Play is really the work of childhood.” – Fred Rogers

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

