“The Letter E” preschool storytime

preschool letter e

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Alphabet Monster (with puppet)
I’m the Alphabet Monster
And nothing tastes better
To the Alphabet Monster
Than eating a letter.
Today I will eat an “E” if I may
With the million more letters
I munch every day.
I’m hungry now. What shall I do?
I think I’ll eat a “y” an “o” and a “u” . . . . . . That means YOU!
Source: Storyblocks (adapted)

Book – First the Egg by Laura Vaccaro Seeger

Song: Mr. Eric’s “Shake with You 

If You like your Eggs Scrambled
If you like your eggs scrambled,
clap your hands
repeat
Yes, they’re yummy and they’re yellow
So you’ll be a happy fellow
If you like your eggs scrambled,
clap your hands
Eggs fried, jump up high…
Bacon with your eggs, wiggle your legs…

If you want toast instead, nod your head
Yes, it’s yummy and it’s great
So you’ll be glad that you ate
If you want toast instead, nod your head.
Source: King County Library System

Book – Ears are for Earrings by Katherine Hengel

Ears and Whiskers, Tail and Feet
(Tune: Head and Shoulders, Knees and Toes)
Ears and whiskers, tail and feet, tail and feet.
Ears and whiskers, tail and feet, tail and feet.
Pet my fur and give a little squeak!
Ears and whiskers, tail and feet, tail and feet.
Source: King County Library System/ Adapted traditional

Ears So Funny
Here is a bunny with ears so funny,
(Hold up two fingers, bent over.)
And here is his home in the ground.
(Make a circle with thumb and index finger of other hand.)
When a noise her hears, he perks up his ears,
(Straighten fingers.)
And he jumps to his home in the ground.
(Two fingers dive into circle of other hand.)
Source: Traditional

Elevator Song
Oh, the city is great and the city is grand
There are lots of tall buildings
On a little piece of land
We live way up on the fifty-seventh floor
And this is what we do when we go out the door
Take the elevator up, take the elevator down (3 times)
Then we bounce around
Source: King County Library System

Book – How Do Dinosaurs Eat their Food? by Jane Yolen

Elbow Elbow
Elbow, elbow
Wrist, wrist
Fingers go like this, this
Knees and toes
Hips and nose
And, that’s the way it goes (clap)
Source: King County Library System

Felt Board – Elephants in the Bathtub
One elephant in the bathtub
Going for a swim
Knock, knock (clap twice)
Splash, splash (slap knees twice)
Come on in! (motion with both hands to come in)

(count up from 1-5)
Five elephants in the bathtub
Going for a swim
Knock, knock (clap twice)
Splash, splash (slap knees twice)
It all fell in! (knock the felt pieces down)
Source: Jbrary

 Song – Jim Gill’s “Shakin’ Everywhere

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip: E is for everywhere! Read everywhere you can: in line, at bedtime, in a waiting room. Point out print on signs, on menus, and everywhere you go!

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

