“Animals at Night” toddler storytime

toddler animals at night

Opening Rhyme
(to the tune of The Farmer in the Dell)
We’re all here today. We’re all here today.
Let’s clap our hands and sing together.
Hip, hip, hooray!
Source: (To be honest, my library was using this before I started so I’m not sure where the previous librarian found it, but it looks like a modified version of Jean Warren’s Preschool Express song here.)

Open Shut Them
Open, shut them, open, shut them,
Give a little clap, clap, clap.
Open, shut them, open, shut them,
Put them in your lap, lap, lap.
Creep them, crawl them,
Creep them, crawl them,
Right up to your chin, chin, chin.
Open up your little mouth,
But do not put them in.
Source: King County Library System

Book – Little Owl’s Night by Divya Srinivasan

There’s Something in the Nighttime
There’s something in the nighttime
that I can’t really see.
There’s something in the nighttime,
Now what can it be?
Whoo, Whoo
Hear its funny sound?
Whoo, Whoo
An Owl is what I found!
Repeat with cat, mouse, wolf, etc.

The Owls in the Forest
(Wheels on the Bus)
The owls in the forest go hoo, hoo, hoo
Hoo, hoo, hoo, hoo, hoo, hoo
The owls in the forest go hoo, hoo, hoo
All night long.
The rabbits in the forest go bounce, bounce, bounce…
The bats in the forest go flap, flap, flap…
Source: Storytime Source Page

Bunnies at Bedtime
“My bunnies now must go to bed,”
The little mother rabbit said.
“But I will count them first to see
If they have all come back to me.
One bunny, two bunnies,
Three bunnies dear,
Four bunnies, five bunnies,
Yes, you’re all here.
You are the prettiest things alive,
My bunnies, one, two, three, four, five.”
Source: King County Library System

Book – Baby Animals at Night by the editors of Kingfisher

Five Little Monkeys
Five little monkeys jumping on the bed
One fell off and bumped his head.
Mama called the doctor and the doctor said:
“No more monkeys jumping on the bed”.
Four little monkeys…
Three little monkeys…
Two little monkeys…
One little monkey…
Source: traditional

The Moon
The moon is round as round can be
Two eyes, a nose and a mouth – like me.
Source: King County Library System

Hey Diddle Diddle
Hey diddle diddle,
The cat and the fiddle
The cow jumped over the moon,
The little dog laughed to see such sport,
And the dish ran away with the spoon.
Source: Traditional

Bubbles – best bubble machine ever! (IMHO, of course)

 Rainbows in my Bubbles
Tune of She’ll be Coming Round the Mountain)
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do
When I look up towards the sun,
They’ve got rainbows every one.
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do.
Source: Preschool Express

Good-bye Song
(Tune of Ten Little Indians)
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with both feet now
Repeat with other body parts
Source: King County Library System

Play Time!

Early literacy tip: Kids are fascinated by the natural world around them. Incorporate science themes, like nocturnal animals, into your everyday reading and exploring!

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

