“Things that Go” toddler storytime

toddler things that go

Opening Rhyme
(to the tune of The Farmer in the Dell)
We’re all here today. We’re all here today.
Let’s clap our hands and sing together.
Hip, hip, hooray!
Source: (To be honest, my library was using this before I started so I’m not sure where the previous librarian found it, but it looks like a modified version of Jean Warren’s Preschool Express song here.)

Hello, Hands. Good-bye, Hands.
Hello, hands. (Wave hands in front of face.)
Good-bye, hands. (Hide hands behind back.)
Hello, hands. Good-bye, hands.
My hands were feeling shy today. (Keep hands hidden.)
But now they’re feeling better! (Bring hands out, wave frantically, and smile HUGE.)
Repeat with feet, face, etc.
Source: King County Library System

Book – Hello, Airplane! by Bill Cotter

Zoom, Zoom, Zoom, We’re Going to the Moon
Zoom, zoom, zoom,
We’re going to the moon
If you want to take a trip climb aboard my rocket ship
Far, far, far, we’re going to the stars
In 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, blast off!
Far, far, far, we’re going to the stars
Fun, fun, fun, we’re going to the sun
Source: Jbrary

Hurry, hurry! Drive the fire truck
Hurry, hurry! Drive the fire truck!
Hurry, hurry! Drive the fire truck!
Hurry, hurry! Drive the fire truck!
Ding, ding, ding, ding, ding!
Hurry, hurry! Climb the ladder…
Hurry, hurry, squirt the fire…
Slowly, slowly, take a nap…
Hurry, hurry, drive the fire truck…
Source: King County Library System       


Felt Board – Where is Airplane?
Where is airplane? Where is airplane?
Here I am. Here I am
How are you today, sir? Very well, I thank you.
Fly away. Fly away.
Repeat with train, boat, car, etc
Source: Adapted traditional

 

Book – My Bus by Byron Barton

Row Your Boat
Row, row, row your boat
Gently down the stream.
Merrily, merrily, merrily, merrily,
Life is but a dream.
Row row row your boat
gently down the stream
If you see a crocodile
Don’t forget to scream! (scream)
Rock, rock, rock your boat
Gently to and fro.
Look out, give a shout!
Into the water you go!
(pretend to make a big splash)
Source: King County Library System

Song – Mr. Eric’s “Beep Beep 

Bubbles – best bubble machine ever! (IMHO, of course)

 Rainbows in my Bubbles
Tune of She’ll be Coming Round the Mountain)
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do
When I look up towards the sun,
They’ve got rainbows every one.
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do.
Source: Preschool Express

Good-bye Song
(Tune of Ten Little Indians)
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with both feet now
Repeat with other body parts
Source: King County Library System

Play Time!

Early literacy tip: Books about cars, truck, planes and trains often have great sounds like “beep beep,” “zoom,” and “chugga chugga.” Words like these help your child learn the sounds of language and will help your child develop pre-reading skills. Whenever you can, play with sounds with your child.
Source: Miss Lisa’s Storytimes

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

