“Reading and Libraries” preschool storytime

preschool reading

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Book – Book! Book! Book! by Deborah Bruss 

Song – “I Know a Chicken” – Laurie Berkner (with egg shakers)

Felt Board – Bookworm
5 felt books in 5 different colors – red, blue, green, black, purple
1 felt worm. Hide the worm behind one of the books.
“Bookworm, bookworm, playing hide and seek.
Are you behind the ____ book? Let’s take a peek!”
Source: Jbrary

 Put Your Hands in the Air
Put your hands in the air,
And touch the ground.
Put your finger on your nose,
And your tongue all around.
Put your hands on your shoulders,
And your elbows on your knees.
Put your chin in your hands, & say,
“Read me a story please.”
Source: King County Library System

 Book – Lola at the Library by Anna McQuinn 

Song – Jim Gill’s “Can’t Wait to Celebrate 

Story Train
Story train, story train
Chugging down the track.
If you want a story, hook onto my back.
Story train, story train chugging all around,
If you want a story then we’ll all sit down!
Source: King County Library System

Read your Books (Row your Boat)
Read, read, read your books,
Read them every day.
Books are fun (jazz hands!)
And make us smart
(point to your amazing brain)
In every kind of way (swoop arms around!)
Source: King County Library System

Open the Book, Close the Book
Arms, legs, both
Close the book. Open the book. Turn the page.
Start seated with arms stretched out in front of you, palms touching. To “open the book,” stretch the arms wide. To close it, bring them back together. To “turn the page,” open just the right arm and close it, then the left arm and close it. Repeat “turning pages” until the kids giggle. Repeat the whole sequence using legs instead of arms. Then try arms and legs together. 

Book – Dinosaur vs. the Library by Bob Shea

Dinosaurs Used to Stomp
Dinosaurs used to stomp
Dinosaurs used to roar
But now they’re quiet
And quite still
Because they exist no more
Source: I could have sworn I got this from KCLS, but nothing is coming up in a google search. While I would love to take credit for it, I’m certain it didn’t come from my head. If anyone knows a source for this, please pass it along! 

Felt Board – Five Enormous Dinosaurs

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip: READ EVERY DAY!
Make reading fun. Use voices and gestures to bring stories to life.

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

