“The Letter D” preschool storytime

letter d

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Alphabet Monster (with puppet)
I’m the Alphabet Monster
And nothing tastes better
To the Alphabet Monster
Than eating a letter.
Today I will eat a “D” if I may
With the million more letters
I munch every day.
I’m hungry now. What shall I do?
I think I’ll eat a “y” an “o” and a “u” . . . . . . That means YOU!
Source: Storyblocks (adapted)

Book – Duck! Rabbit! by Amy Krouse Rosenthal

Sleeping Bunnies
See the little bunnies sleeping
‘Til it’s nearly noon?
Shall we wake them with a merry tune?
Oh, so still. Are they ill?
Wake up little bunnies!
Hop little bunnies, hop, hop, hop
Hop little bunnies, hop, hop, hop
Hop little bunnies, hop, hop, hop
Source: Jbrary 

Mr. Turkey and Mr. Duck
Mr. Turkey went out one day
In the bright sunshiny weather
He met Mr. Duck along the way
And they stopped to talk together
And they stopped to talk together.
Gobble, gobble, gobble
Quack, quack, quack.
Gobble, gobble, gobble
Quack, quack, quack.
Gobble, gobble, gobble
Quack, quack, quack.
And then they both went back.
Quack!
Source: King County Library System

Drive, Drive, Drive Your Truck
Drive, drive, drive your truck,
All around the town!
Merrily, merrily, merrily, merrily,
Up the hills and down.
Drive, drive, drive your truck,
Drive it down the street
Merrily, merrily, merrily, merrily,
Don’t forget to beep
Source: King County Library System

 

Book – Dog’s Colorful Day by Emily Dodd

 After a Bath
After a bath, I try, try, try
To wipe myself until I am dry, dry, dry
Hands to wipe and fingers and toes
Two wet legs and a shiny nose
Just think how much less time it would take
If I were a dog and I could shake, shake, shake
Source: King County Library System

Song – Mr. Eric’s “Dance Freeze Melt

Book – Dinosaur Roar by Paul and Henrietta Stickland

Five Enormous Dinosaurs
Five enormous dinosaurs, letting out a roar
One stomped away, and then there were four.
Stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, ROAR!
Four enormous dinosaurs, crashing down a tree
Three enormous dinosaurs, eating tiger stew
Two enormous dinosaurs, basking in the sun
One enormous dinosaur, afraid to be a hero
Source: King County Library System

Dinosaurs Used to Stomp
Dinosaurs used to stomp
Dinosaurs used to roar
But now they’re quiet
And quite still
Because they exist no more.
Source: I could have sworn I got this from KCLS, but nothing is coming up in a google search. While I would love to take credit for it, I’m certain it didn’t come from my head. If anyone knows a source for this, please pass it along!

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip: Tell stories about when you were a child. Kids love trying to imagine the people in their lives as kids themselves. Finding pictures or other memorabilia in scrapbooks is a great way to start talking about the past. Creating the child’s own scrapbook is a way to incorporate postcards, ticket stubs, and other items with words while learning to tell stories to each other.

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

