“Cows” toddler storytime

toddler cow

Opening Rhyme
(to the tune of The Farmer in the Dell)
We’re all here today. We’re all here today.
Let’s clap our hands and sing together.
Hip, hip, hooray!
Source: (To be honest, my library was using this before I started so I’m not sure where the previous librarian found it, but it looks like a modified version of Jean Warren’s Preschool Express song here.)

Hello, Hands. Good-bye, Hands.
Hello, hands. (Wave hands in front of face.)
Good-bye, hands. (Hide hands behind back.)
Hello, hands. Good-bye, hands.
My hands were feeling shy today. (Keep hands hidden.)
But now they’re feeling better! (Bring hands out, wave frantically, and smile HUGE.)
Repeat with feet, face, etc.
Source: King County Library System

Book – There’s a Cow in the Cabbage Patch by Clare Beaton

Who said Moo?
I went to a farm when I was two,
And on that farm, I heard a moo!
Who said moo? Horse, did you?
No way! Horse said, neigh!
Who said, moo? Lamb, did you?
No ha-ha! Lamb said,baa!
Who said, moo? Cat, did you?
He didn’t know how. Cat said, meow!
Who said, moo? Dog, did you?
That would be tough. Dog said, ruff!
Who said, moo? Hen, did you?
No suck luck. Hen said, cluck!
I was feeling so sad, I wanted to cry,
When a black and white cow, Came walking by.
Do you know what she said? I think you do.
Let’s say it together: The cow said: MOOOOOO!!!
Source: King County Library System 

Old MacDonald Had a Farm
Old MacDonald had a farm,
Ee i ee i oh!
And on his farm he had some cows,
Ee i ee i oh!
With a moo moo here,
And a moo moo there
Here a moo, there a moo,
Everywhere a moo moo
Old MacDonald had a farm
Ee i ee i oh!
Hens…cluck
Pigs…oink
Sheep…baa
Source: Traditional  

Can You Shake Your Egg with Me (with shaker eggs)
(tune: London Bridge)
Can you shake your egg with me,
Egg with me, egg with me
Can you shake your egg with me
It’s as easy as can be
Now put it on your knee!
(Repeat with head, tummy, etc.)
Source: King County Library System

Book – Wow, It’s a Cow! by Trudy and Jay Harris 

This Little Cow
This little cow eats grass (wiggle thumb)
And this little cow eats hay (index finger)
This little cow drinks water (wiggle tall)
And this little cow runs away (wiggle ring finger)
But this little cow does nothing (wiggle pinkie)
But just lies down all day. (tap pinkie)
We’ll chase him and chase him (tickle child)
And chase him away.
Source: King County Library System

When Cows Get Up in the Morning
When cows get up in the morning, they always say good day.
When cows get up in the morning, they always say good day.
They say moo moo moo moo, that is what they say.
They say moo moo moo moo, that is what they say.
Source: Washington County Cooperative Library Services

Bubbles – best bubble machine ever! (IMHO, of course)

Rainbows in my Bubbles
(Tune of She’ll be Coming Round the Mountain)
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do
When I look up towards the sun,
They’ve got rainbows every one.
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do.
Source: Preschool Express

Good-bye Song
(Tune of Ten Little Indians)
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with both feet now
Repeat with other body parts
Source: King County Library System

Play Time!

Early literacy tip: Talk to your baby, even though she doesn’t understand you yet. Have conversations throughout the day–during feeding, diapering and bathing, on errands, and during other daily routines. When you talk, use words to tell your baby the names of objects, to point out and describe what is happening, and to explain what will happen next. By talking, you explore the world together, teach your baby the sounds, rhythm, and purpose of language, and make a loving connection
Source: PBS

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

