“The Letter A” preschool storytime

preschool letter a

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Alphabet Monster (with puppet)
I’m the Alphabet Monster
And nothing tastes better
To the Alphabet Monster
Than eating a letter.
Today I will eat an “A” if I may
With the million more letters
I munch every day.
I’m hungry now. What shall I do?
I think I’ll eat a “y” an “o” and a “u” . . . . . . That means YOU!
Source: Storyblocks (adapted)

 Book – There Once was a Cowpoke who Swallowed an Ant by Helen Ketteman

 Felt Board – Five Hungry Ants
Five hungry ants
were marching in a line.
They came upon a picnic
Where they could dine.
They marched into the salad.
They marched into the cake.
They marched into the pepper.
Uh-oh, that was a mistake.
A-a-a-achoo!!
Four hungry ants… 

Laurie Berkner – “The Airplane Song

Alligator, Alligator
Alligator, alligator, long and green
Alligator, alligator, teeth so mean
Snapping at a fly, snapping at a bee
Snapping at a frog, but you can’t catch me
Source: King County Library System

Book – Snip Snap What’s That? by Mara Bergman

Alligator Elevator
An alligator went for an elevator ride
Said the elevator operator, “Step inside”
First floor, second floor, up and down
It’s the only alligator elevator in town!
Source: King County Library System

A is for Alligator, Chomp, Chomp, Chomp
A is for alligator, chomp, chomp, chomp!
B is for bouncing, hop, hop, hop!
C is for circle, round and round.
D is for dizzy, all sit down!
Source: King County Library System

Book – When Sophie Gets Angry – Really, Really Angry by Molly Bang

If You’re Angry and You Know It
If you’re angry and you know it, stomp your feet
If you’re angry and you know it, stomp your feet
If you’re angry and you know it,
And you really want to show it
If you’re angry and you know it, stomp your feet
If you’re crying and you know it, wipe your tears
If you’re happy and you know it, shout “Hurray!”
Source: Adapted traditional

Arms Up High
Arms up high above your head
Arms down low beside you
Arms up high above your head
Smile and wave your hand.
Repeat, ending with…
Smile and clap your hands.
Smile and brush your nose.
Smile and touch your toes.
Smile and tickle somebody.
Source: King County Library System

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip: On a day when someone is not feeling well, it can be fun to play that you are sick. One person is the patient, and one is the caregiver. This allows for lots of chances to talk about how medicine, doctors, nurses, and simple TLC make us feel better.

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

