“Bath Time” toddler storytime

toddler bath

Opening Rhyme
(to the tune of The Farmer in the Dell)
We’re all here today. We’re all here today.
Let’s clap our hands and sing together.
Hip, hip, hooray!
Source: (To be honest, my library was using this before I started so I’m not sure where the previous librarian found it, but it looks like a modified version of Jean Warren’s Preschool Express song here.)

Where, oh Where are Baby’s Fingers?
(Tune: Ten Little Indians)
Where, oh where are baby’s fingers? Where, oh where are baby’s toes?
Where’s the baby’s belly button?
‘Round and round it goes
Where, oh where are baby’s ears?
Where, oh where is baby’s nose?
Where’s the baby’s belly button?
Round and round it goes.
Source: King County Library System

Book: Bubble Bath Pirates by Jarrett J. Krosoczak

If You Want to be a Pirate
(If You’re Happy and You Know It)
If you’re a pirate, and you know it
Swab the deck
If you’re a pirate, and you know it
Swab the deck
If you’re a pirate, and you know it
If you’re a pirate, and you know it
If you’re a pirate, and you know it
Swab the deck
Other verses: wear an eye patch
Walk the plank

Shout, “Ahoy!”
Source: Adapted Traditional

Rub-a-Dub-Dub
Rub-a-dub-dub,
Three men in a tub.
And who do you think they be?
The butcher, the baker, the candlestick maker
And out they jumped, all three!
Source: Traditional

After a Bath
After a bath I try, try, try
To wipe myself ‘til I’m dry, dry, dry
Hands to wipe and fingers and toes
Two wet legs and shiny nose.
Just think how much less time it would take
If I were a dog and could shake, shake, shake!
Source: King County Library System

Book: Ella’s Bath by Peter Bently

The Itsy Bitsy Spider
The Itsy Bitsy Spider
Went up the water spout
Down came the rain and
Washed the spider out
Out came the sun
And dried up all the rain
So the itsy bitsy spider
Went up the spout again
Teeny weeny spider
Big humongous spider
Source: adapted traditional

Bubbles – best bubble machine ever! (IMHO, of course)

 Rainbows in my Bubbles
Tune of She’ll be Coming Round the Mountain)
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do
When I look up towards the sun,
They’ve got rainbows every one.
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do.
Source: Preschool Express

Good-bye Song
(Tune of Ten Little Indians)
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with both feet now
Repeat with other body parts
Source: King County Library System

Early Literacy tip: Bath time is a wonderful opportunity to encourage play and imagination! You can be pirates or sea turtles, or you can use bubbles to practice fine motor skills and finger dexterity.

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

