“Back to School” preschool storytime

preschool school

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Book – David Goes to School by David Shannon

Felt Board-Five Cupcakes in a Bakery Shop
Five cupcakes in a bakery shop
Five cupcakes with the sugar on the top
Along came a boy with a dollar to pay
He took one cupcake and ran away.
Four cupcakes in a bakery shop…
Three cupcakes in a bakery shop…
Two cupcakes in a bakery shop…
One cupcakes in a bakery shop…

No cupcakes in a bakery shop
No cupcakes with the sugar on the top
Along came a girl with a dollar to pay
She took one look and she ran away.
Source: King County Library System

Diez Amigos (Ten Little Indians)
Un amigo, dos amigos, tres amigos
Cuatro amigos, cinco amigos, seis amigos
Siete amigos, ocho amigos, nueve amigos
Diez amigos son, son, son
Source: King County Library System

Sometimes My Hands are at My Side
Sometimes my hands are at my side
 Then behind my back they hide
 Sometimes I wiggle my fingers so
 Shake them fast, shake them slow
 Sometimes my hands go clap, clap, clap
 Then I rest them in my lap
Now they’re quiet as can be
Because it’s listening time, you see.
Source: Preschool Rainbow

Book – Tyrannosaurus Wrecks by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen

Song – “Dinos in Cars” – Nancy Stewart

Reach for the Ceiling
Reach for the ceiling, touch the floor,
Stand up again, let’s do some more.
Touch your head, then your knee,
Up to your shoulders, like this, you see.
Reach for the ceiling, touch the floor,
That’s all now, but I’ve got one book more.
Source: King County Library System

Book – Pete the Cat: I Love my School Shoes by Eric Litwin

A is for Alligator
A is for alligator
Chomp, chomp, chomp
B is for ball
Bounce, bounce, bounce
C is for circle
Turn ’round and ’round
& D is for dizzy
Let’s all sit down!
Source: King County Library System

 

Song: Jim Gill’s “Can’t Wait to Celebrate” 

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early Literacy Tip: Sharing nursery rhymes, poems, and finger plays is a great way to foster early literacy skills. The easy-to-remember, rhythmic verses of poems and rhymes will be requested over and over by your preschooler. You’ll be amazed at how much a young child can pick up from a favorite rhyme. Check out or buy a nursery rhyme book and a book of children’s poetry. You’ll be reading from these books for years to come.
Source: Bright Hub Education

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

One thought on ““Back to School” preschool storytime

Leave a Reply

