“Jan Thomas” preschool storytime

preschool jan thomas

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

 

Book – What Will Fat Cat Sit On? 

Song: Mr. Eric’s “The Number Dance

Felt Board – A-hunting We will Go
I also added “owl…towel.”

Book – Can You Make a Scary Face?

Catch a Bug
Catch a pretend bug in your hands. Peek inside to make sure it’s there.
Can you shake your bug above your head? Can you shake it above your feet?
Can you shake it over your belly? Can you shake it behind your back?
Can you put it in a kangaroo? (bounce your bug – boing! Boing! Boing!)
Can you put your bug on a ferris wheel? (Move cupped hands in a circle.)
Can you put it on a roller coaster? (Move your hands slowly up a pretend incline and then quickly down the other side like a roller coaster.)
Can you put your bug in a washing machine? (“Stir’ your bug, complete with  washing machine sound effects.)
Can you put your bug in the dryer? (Make loud noises like shoes in the dryer while bumping your bug around.)
Can you smash it on the floor? (Smash bug. Look at your hands.) Ewwwww.
Can you wipe your hands on your friend? (Pretend to wipe your hands on the person next to you.)
Can you wash your hands?
Source: I saw this at a storytime share in Colorado, but I have no idea where it came from originally. 

Can You Move with Me?
Can you wiggle like a worm?
Can you squiggle? Can you squirm? (wiggle)
Can you flutter? Can you fly like a gentle butterfly? (flap arms like wings)
Can you crawl upon the ground (crawl hands on ground)
Like a beetle that is round?
Can you move with me? (clap)
Can you flip? Can you flop?
Can you give a little hop?
Can you slither like a snake?
Can you give a little shake?
Can you dance like bee
Who is buzzing round a tree?
Can you move with me?
Source: King County Library System

Here is the beehive, where are the bees?
Here is the beehive, where are the bees?
clench fist and bring out fingers quickly one by one
Hidden away were nobody sees
Watch and you will see them come out of their hives,
One, two, three, four, five,
Buzz, buzz, buzz.
Source: King County Library System    

Book – Let’s Sing a Lullaby with the Brave Cowboy

I like to read this book and sing the following song wearing one of these babies.

Silly Hat Tune: This Old Man
On my head I wear my hat.
It is such a silly hat that my head
will wiggle waggle to and fro
Where else can my silly hat go?
(foot, elbow, knee…)

On my hands I wear my hat.
It is such a quiet hat that my
hands don’t wiggle they just go clap.
Then I fold them in my lap.
Source: King County Library System 

 

Song: Laurie Berkner’s “Goldfish” 

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip
A warm and trusting relationship is the strongest foundation for learning. If a child is having a tantrum, and an adult responds with, “What a terrible time to have tantrum!” those children became less adept at reading and understanding other’s feelings and thoughts. When adults expressed empathy and understanding (“You must be really upset about something”), children came to realize there are human needs underlying emotions.
– Ellen Galinsky, Mind in the Making

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

