“It’s my birthday, and I’ll read what I want to” (Miss Andrea’s favorites) preschool storytime

preschool bday

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Book – No, No, Kitten! by Shelley Moore Thomas

Banana
Calling bananas of the world!
Bananas unite. Bananas split.
Slide to the left and slide to the right
Peel your banana and, yum, take a bite!
Go Bananas, go go bananas!
Go Bananas, go go bananas!
Source: King County Library System 

Song – “Airplane” by Laurie Berkner 

A Ram Sam Sam
A ram sam sam
A ram sam sam
Guli guli guli guli guli
Ram sam sam
A rafi, a rafi,
Guli guli guli guli guli
A ram sam sam
Source: Storyblocks 

Book – This Book Just Ate my Dog! by Richard Byrne 

 Felt Board – Five Hungry Ants
Five hungry ants were marching in a line
They came across a picnic
Where they could dine.
They marched into the salad.
They marched into the cake.
They marched into the pepper.
Uh-oh, that was a mistake.
A-a-a-CHOO!
Source: King County Library System
Two Little Black Birds
Two little black birds sitting on a hill
One named Jack and one named Jill
Fly away, Jack. Fly away, Jill.
Come back, Jack. Come back, Jill .
Sitting in a car… near and far
Flying in the sky…low/high
Sitting on a gate…Early/late
Sitting on a pole…Fast/slow
Sitting on the ice…Mean/nice
Sitting on a gate… Wobbly/straight
Sitting on a mop… Bottom…top
Sitting on a cloud… Quiet and loud
Sitting on a lily… Serious/silly
Source: Jbrary

Book – Is Everyone Ready for Fun? by Jan Thomas 

Song – Mr. Eric’s “Dance, Freeze, Melt

Felt Board – Pigs and Pancakes
Source: Fun with Friends at Storytime

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip: Celebrate Miss Andrea’s birthday week by reading and dancing with your kiddos!

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

