“Sun and Moon” Toddler storytime

toddler sun moon

Opening Rhyme
(to the tune of The Farmer in the Dell)
We’re all here today. We’re all here today.
Let’s clap our hands and sing together.
Hip, hip, hooray!
Source: (To be honest, my library was using this before I started so I’m not sure where the previous librarian found it, but it looks like a modified version of Jean Warren’s Preschool Express song here.)

Hello, Hands. Good-bye, Hands.
Hello, hands. (Wave hands in front of face.)
Good-bye, hands. (Hide hands behind back.)
Hello, hands. Good-bye, hands.
My hands were feeling shy today. (Keep hands hidden.)
But now they’re feeling better! (Bring hands out, wave frantically, and smile HUGE.)
Repeat with feet, face, etc.
Source: King County Library System

Book: What the Sun Sees by Nancy Tafuri

Itsy Bitsy Spider
The itsy bitsy spider went up the water spout.
Down came the rain and washed the spider out.
Out came the sun and dried up all the rain,
And the itsy bitsy spider went up the spout again.
Extra verses: Teeny weeny spider (in high-pitched voice)
Big humungous spider (in deep voice)
Source: King County Library System

Scarf Play
Peek-a-boo
Scarf Toss (literally, just tossing the scarves in the air, while saying, “1,2,3 – weee!!!!)

Scarf Song
(tune of The Farmer in the Dell)
My scarf goes up. My scarf goes down.
My scarf goes around, around, around, around, around.
My scarf goes in. My scarf comes out.
My scarf flies about, about, about, about, about.
Source: No clue where I originally saw or heard this, but here is a PDF.)

Scarf Dance
(Tune of Here we go Round the Mulberry Bush)
Wave the scarf above your head
Above your head, above your head.
Wave the scarf above your head.
Now drop it on the ground.
Stretch your arms up to the sky.
To the sky, to the sky.
Stretch your arms up to the sky.
Now make a clapping sound.
Pick your scarf up off the ground
Off the ground, off the ground.
Pick the scarf up off the ground.
Now twirl and dance around.
Source: King County Library System

Book – What the Moon Sees by Nancy Tafuri

The Moon
The moon is round
As round can be,
Two eyes, a nose and a mouth
Like me!
Source: Jbrary

Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star
Twinkle, twinkle, little star
How I wonder what you are
Up above the world so high
Like a diamond in the sky
Twinkle, twinkle, little star
How I wonder what you are
Source: Traditional

Bubbles – best bubble machine ever! (IMHO, of course)

Rainbows in my Bubbles
(Tune of She’ll be Coming Round the Mountain)
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do
When I look up towards the sun,
They’ve got rainbows every one.
I’ve got rainbows in my bubbles, yes, I do.
Source: Preschool Express

Good-bye Song
(Tune of Ten Little Indians)
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with one hand, then with the other
Wave with both feet now
Repeat with other body parts
Source: King County Library System

Play Time!

Early literacy tip: Sing a book with your child. You can make up a tune, or choose a book with a song you already know. You can even choose a theme – such as books about spiders – and then sing “Itsy Bitsy Spider” with your child.

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

