“Shapes” Preschool Storytime

preschool shapes

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Book – Mouse Shapes by Ellen Stohl Walsh

Felt Board – Shape Song
Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes
Circle, square and triangle, triangle.
Circle, square and triangle, triangle.
Heart and star and rectangle,
Circle, square and triangle, triangle.
Source:  adapted traditional

How Can You Tell?
This is a circle. (point to a circle)
How can you tell?
It goes round and round,
No end can be found.
This is a square. (point to a square)
How can you tell?
It has four sides,
All the same size.
Source: King County Library System

Hop and Twirl
Make a circle and we’ll go around
First walk on tip-toe
So we don’t make a sound.
Tip, toe, around we go.
Then hop on our left foot,
Then hop on our right
Then hop together,
What a funny sight!
Now stop hopping and twirl around.
Now we’re ready to settle down.
Source: King County Library System

Book – Not a Box by Antoinette Portis

Felt Board – Pete the Cat and his Four Groovy Buttons

Song – Ravioli
Tune: Alouette
Ravioli, ravioli,
Ravioli, that’s the stuff for me.
Do you have it on your sleeve?
Yes, I have it on my sleeve.
On your sleeve?
On my sleeve.
Ra-vi-o-li…
Repeat with other body parts or articles of clothing, e.g. Do you have it on your chin? Do you have it in your shoes? etc.
Source: King County Library System

Book – Color Zoo – Lois Ehlert

Zoo Animals
If you want to be a monkey, jump up high
If you want to be a monkey, jump up high
If you want to be a monkey,
If you want to be a monkey,
If you want to be a monkey, jump up high.
Eagle…flap your wings
Elephant…swing your trunk
Lion…roar out loud
Giraffe…stand up tall  (stretch high)
Snake…slither and hiss
Source: King County Library System

My Balloon
(Tune: Pop Goes the Weasel)
Here I have a big balloon
Watch me while I blow.
Small at first, then bigger,
Watch it grow and grow. (expand arms)
Do you think it’s big enough?
Maybe I should stop.
For if I blow much longer,
My balloon will surely pop! (big clap)
Source: King County Library System

Goodbye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

