Chinese/ Lunar New Year Preschool Storytime

chinese new year

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Book – Bringing in the New Year by Grace Lin

I made one of these dragons and danced it through the group of kiddos during each dragon rhyme.

If You’re a Dragon and You Know It
If you’re a dragon and you know it,
Show your claws.
If you’re a dragon and you know it,
Show your claws.
If you’re a dragon and you know it,
And you really want to show it,
If you’re a dragon and you know it,
Show your claws.
Have the kids tell you what other traits dragons have and make up new verses with these traits.
Source: Storytime with Miss Mollie

Felt Board – Four Red Dragons
Four red dragons
Dancing ’round a tree
One danced away
And then there were three
Three red dragons
Dancing ’round you
One danced away
And then there were two
Two red dragons
Dancing in the sun
One danced away
And then there was one
One red dragon
Having lots of fun
She danced away
And then there were none
Source: Storytime with Miss Mollie

Book – Round is a Mooncake by Roseanne Thong

Almond Cookies (Frere Jacques)
Almond cookies, almond cookies
For the new year, for the new year
Pour and mix and bake, pour and mix and bake
Yum, yum, yum. Yum, yum, yum.
Source: King County Library System

Felt Board – How Can You Tell?
This is a circle. (point to a circle)
How can you tell?
It goes round and round
No end can be found.
This is a square. (point to a square)
How can you tell?
It has four sides,
All the same size.
Source: King County Library System

Song – “Dance Freeze Melt” by The Learning Groove with Mr. Eric and Mr. Michael

Book – The Squiggle by Carole Lexa Schaefer

See the Dragon
Sung to: “Mary Had a Little Lamb”
See the dragon dance and prance
Dance and prance, dance and prance
See the dragon dance and prance
On Chinese New Year’s Day
Hear the firecrackers pop pop pop
Pop pop, pop pop
Hear the firecrackers pop pop pop
On Chinese New Year’s Day
Source: Perpetual Preschool

Dragon Dragon
Dragon, dragon, dance around
Dragon, dragon, touch the ground
Dragon, dragon, scratch your head
Dragon, dragon, point to red
Dragon, dragon, shut the door
Dragon, dragon, give a great big roar
Source: King County Library System

Good-bye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip: Introduce young children to other cultures, languages, holidays, and foods. The more familiar they are with other cultures, the more comfortable and tolerant they will be.

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

