Dinosaurs preschool storytime

dinosaur preschool
Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Book – Tyrannosaurus Wrecks by Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen

Dinosaurs
Dinosaurs lived a long time ago
Some walked  (stomp)
Some swam  (swim motions)
Some flew, you know!  (flying motions)
Some were big  (hands above head)
Some were small  (squat down low)
Some were gigantic  (stretch arms to side)
And very, very, tall  (stretch arms up high)
Source: King County Library System

 Dinosaur Egg
Inside her egg shell, white and round,
Baby dino is safe and sound.
But she wants to come out into the light,
So she pushes and shoves
With all her might.
Her shell soon cracks
And creaks and pops,
One big jump and out she pops!
Source: Preschool Express

 Dinosaurs Used to Stomp
Dinosaurs used to stomp
Dinosaurs used to roar
But now they’re quiet
And quite still
Because they exist no more
Source: I could have sworn I got this from KCLS, but nothing is coming up in a google search. While I would love to take credit for it, I’m certain it didn’t come from my head. If anyone knows a source for this, please pass it along!

Book – The Dinosaur Museum by Joann Early Macken (getting down with some non-fiction)

Song – “Goldfish” by Laurie Berkner (I had planned on playing Nancy Stewart’s Dino Cars, but my iPod wasn’t working. We left the dino theme to play another one of the storytime faves.)

 

Dinosaur, Dinosaur, Where Can You Be
Dinosaur, dinosaur, where can you be? (thumbs behind back)
Hiding behind me, where no one can see
Now you see one, (one thumb out in front)
She’s looking at you.
Here comes the other (other thumb out)
And now there are two (Try to let the children complete this sentence!)
Source: King County Library System

Book – See Me Run by Paul Meisel (Some of the older kiddos may be able to help you read this. It’s so silly and one of my faves.)

Song – “Jumping and Counting” by Jim Gill (For whatever reason, the kids in my first session were obsessed with counting the dogs on every page in See Me Run, so I took that counting energy into an impromptu dance break. It worked so we did it again in the second session.)

Felt Board – Five Dinosaurs
Five enormous dinosaurs letting out a roar.
One stomped away and then there were four.
Stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, ROAR!

Four enormous dinosaurs knocking down a tree.
One stomped away. Then there were three.
Stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, ROAR!

Three enormous dinosaurs eating tiger stew.
One stomped away and then there were two.
Stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, ROAR!

Two enormous dinosaurs sitting in the sun.
One flapped away and then there were one.
Flap, flap, flap, flap, flap, flap, flap, flap, ROAR!

One enormous dinosaur left all alone.
He stomped away and then there were none.
Stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, stomp, ROAR!
Source: King County Library System

 Good-bye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip: Play games that help promote focus and that require children to pay attention; I Spy, puzzles, musical chairs, guessing games, Simon Says, and Red Light/ Green Light are all examples of games that promote focus-play.  You can buy puzzles, or simply tear magazine pictures into odd shapes and have your child “find the picture” by putting it back together. – The Mind in the Making, Ellen Galinsky

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

