Mice preschool storytime

mice preschool

Opening Song
I wiggle my fingers. I wiggle my toes.
I wiggle my ears. I wiggle my nose.
I wiggle my shoulders. I wiggle my chin.
I stretch my arms wide and pull them back in.
I wiggle my elbows. I wiggle my knees.
I hop like a bunny. I smile and say, “Cheese!”
Now I have no more wiggles left in me
And I sit on the floor as still as can be.
Source: Storytime with Jason

Book – If you Give a Mouse a Cookie by Laura Numeroff

Song – Jim Gill “Silly Dance Contest”

Felt Story – Five Little Mice/ Cinco Ratoncitos
Cinco ratoncitos de colito gris (Five little mice with gray tails)
Muevan las orejas. Muevan la nariz. (Move their ears. Move their noses)
Uno, dos, tres, cuatro, cinco (1,2,3,4,5)
Corren al rincon (Run to the corner)
Porque viene el gato (Because here comes the cat)
A comer raton! (to eat a mouse!)
I used 5 felt mice and a cat puppet. The cat “eats” a mouse, and we count down until there are no mice left. I did the rhyme in Spanish and English once and then switched completely to Spanish. My Spanish is not
perfecto, by any means, but I love exposing the kids to another language. Also, for reasons unknown, they LOVE this rhyme!
Source: I stole this rhyme from the fabulous lady who does our Spanish storytime, but you can see an example here

Book – Inside Mouse, Outside Mouse by Lindsay Barrett George

Boing! Boing! Squeak!
Boing! Boing! Squeak!
Boing! Boing! Squeak!
A bouncing mouse is in my house
He’s been here for a week.
He bounces in the kitchen, (bounce to one side)
He bounces in the den, (bounce to the other side)
He bounces in the living room,
Look! There he goes again!
Boing! Boing! Squeak! Boing! Boing! Squeak!
A bouncing mouse is in my house,
He’s been here for a week.
Source: King County Library System (Get your cardio out of the way at work

Hurry Scurry Mousie
Hurry scurry mousie
Starts down at your toes. (touch toes)
Hurry scurry mousie (walk fingers up body with words.)
Past your knees he goes.
Hurry scurry mousie
Past where your tummy is.
Hurry scurry mousie
Gives you a mousie kiss. (kiss fingers.)
Source: King County Library System

Book – Mouse Mess by Linnea Riley

Felt Board – Little Mouse, Little Mouse, Are You in the House?

Ears and Whiskers, Tail and Feet
(Tune: Head and Shoulders, Knees and Toes)
Ears and whiskers, tail and feet, tail and feet.
Ears and whiskers, tail and feet, tail and feet.
Pet my fur and give a little squeak!
Ears and whiskers, tail and feet, tail and feet
Source: King County Library System

 Good-bye
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as high as we can
Good-bye! (in high, squeaky voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as low as we can
Good-bye! (in a deep voice)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as fast as we can
Good-bye! (very quick)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as slow as we can
Good-bye! (very slowly and drawn out)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as quiet as we can
Good-bye! (in a whisper)
Bread and butter, marmalade and jam
Let’s say good-bye as loud as we can
GOOD-BYE! (yelling)
Source: Jbrary

Early literacy tip: Some children love to sit and listen to books, while other children love to move. Help your child enjoy both by selecting books that allow him/her to listen and move. Books that have a repeated phrase throughout the story also allow your child to participate.

Dumb joke of the week: Why did they kick Cinderella off the baseball team?

She kept running away from the ball.

 

Creative Commons License
Yogibrarian is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

